Welcome to Rains County AgriLife Extension

Rains County Courthouse

Rains County Courthouse

The birth of Rains County came about in 1870 by taking in land from Wood, Van Zandt, Hunt and Hopkins Counties. Rains County and Emory, the County Seat, received its name from Mr. Emory Rains, Republic of Texas Leader. Emory Rains was born in Warren County, Tennessee and moved to Texas in 1817. Emory Rains held many public offices and his life was devoted to that of a public servant.

In 1866, Emory Rains rode a mule to Austin, Texas for the purpose of getting a bill introduced to create Rains County. On March 3, 1878, Emory Rains died of an apparent stroke and is buried in the City Cemetery in Emory, Texas.

Rains County is situated between Lake Tawakoni and Lake Fork. Rains County consists of the following towns:  Emory (County Seat), Point, East Tawakoni and part of Alba, some of Lone Oak and communities such as Hogansville, Lake Fork, Flats, Sand Flat, Ginger, Smyrna, Dougherty, and Richland.

Rains County is mainly an agricultural county with most of the income coming from beef cattle, dairy cattle, hay, and vegetables.

The 90th Annual Rains County Fair will be held September 15-19, 2020. The Schedule of Events includes: a Junior Livestock Show and Sale, Chili Cook Off, Pageant Contests, carnival rides, country and western band and dance, Gospel singing, creative arts exhibits, Mutton Bustin Contest, parade and tons of great food for everyone to enjoy!

The Rains County Free Fair began in 1930 and was originally held on the Rains County Courthouse Square in Emory, Texas.

Please click here for additional information.